Investigation/Discipline Process

The Government of Saskatchewan has granted the Saskatchewan Association of Licensed Practical Nurses (SALPN) the authority and responsibility to regulate Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) in Saskatchewan. The purpose of professional regulation is to protect the public from risk and reduce harm to those a profession serves. LPNs are regulated because the service LPNs provide can pose a risk to the public if performed incompetently, unethically, or by unqualified individuals.

The Licensed Practical Nurses Act, 2000 (LPN ACT) establishes two statutory committees: The Counselling & Investigation Committee and the Discipline Committee. They manage investigation and discipline proceedings involving LPNs. The LPN Act prescribes the composition and the authority of the committees. The decision-making functions of the committees are independent of the SALPN and are supported administratively by SALPN staff.

The processes and decision-making of the committees are guided by the below principles of natural justice and procedural fairness:

• The right to be informed
• The right to respond to the allegations
• The right to be represented
• The right to a fair and impartial decision-making process
• The right to have the case decided by those that have heard the case
• The right to timely proceedings
• The right to be provided reasons for decision-making

The Process



The Procedures of the Counselling & Investigation and Discipline Committee are  further described in the manual. Click the image below to view. 


Frequently Asked Questions

The Discipline process is further described in the Disciplinary Proceedings brochure. Click on the image below to view. 


SALPN on Twitter

We mourn for the 215 children who did not return to their families. We yearn for healing in Canada’s indigenous communities. #TRC #215CanadaDayOfMourning

A remarkable podcast on how the kindness movement in health care delivery can affect regulators by being less process orientated and considering how communications are received: @Ahpra #professionalregulation

Visit this link to view our 2020 annual report!


2208 E Victoria Ave
Regina, Saskatchewan
Canada S4N 7B9

Phone: 306-525-1436
Toll Free: 888-257-2576
Fax: 306-347-7784

hours of operation

Monday - Friday
9:00AM - 12:00PM and 1:00PM - 4:00PM


Practice & Standards Inquiries:
Other Inquiries:

Image Image

SALPN acknowledges the organization resides on traditional land, referred to as Treaty 4 Territory, the original lands of the Cree, Ojibwe, Salteaux, Dakota, Nakota, Lakota and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. We honour and respect the treaties that were made on all territories and are committed to our partnership with Indigenous Nations in the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration. 

Copyright SALPN. All Rights Reserved.   |   Site by AdSpark Communications