SALPN Governance Video
Everything you need to know about the SALPN Council and what they do. 

What is Council?

The Council is the governing body of the SALPN. As a self-regulating profession, LPNs are elected to Council.  The five LPN positions on the SALPN Council consist of the Chair, Vice-Chair and three (3) Council Members.  In addition, there are three public appointees appointed by the Minister of Health.

The Council is responsible for the regulation of the Licensed Practical Nurse profession in Saskatchewan. The SALPN is accountable for ensuring the SALPN regulates in the interest of the public and not the interest of the profession. The Council is delegated the authority to regulate the LPN profession by the legislature through a piece of legislation called “The Licensed Practical Nurses Act, 2000”. The Act outlines the regulatory and administrative responsibilities of the SALPN and the Council. 

The Council fulfils its responsibilities through a process called governance. Governance includes setting the overall direction of the SALPN by developing a strategic plan and policies that guide the organization in its work.   The Council delegates responsibilities to the Executive Director and monitors the organization’s progress and status through the Executive Director. The Council is committed to high-quality governance. In December 2020, the Council adopted principles to guide them through the governance process:

To learn more about the SALPN Council, please review the Council Terms of Reference:
View the Council Terms of Reference Here

SALPN Council



Council Members:

Public Representatives:

Executive Director:

Linda Ewen, LPN

Marlo Umahag, LPN

Kirsten Hack, LPN
Uniqa Anmol, LPN
Kim Flath, LPN

Mary Ellen Wellsch
Theo Bryson
Michael Lummerding

Lynsay Nair, LPN

SALPN Vice-Chair & Chair

The Vice-Chair is elected to a four-year term by the SALPN membership. After two years, the Vice-Chair becomes the Chair of the Council. 

The Chair is the leader and spokesperson of the Council, presides over the Council’s activities, and is accountable for the integrity of Council’s processes. The Chair does not have individual authority over the SALPN but leads and manages the Council’s collective authority. The Chair works closely with the Executive Director in planning and implementing the Council’s activities while mentoring the Vice-Chair. 

The Vice-Chair prepares to become the Chair by working closely with the Chair and steps into the Chair’s duties when required. 

To learn more about the role of the Chair and Vice-Chair, please review the Terms of Reference:

View the SALPN Chair and Vice-Chair Terms of Reference Here 

Council Members

Council Members Council members contribute to the governance of the SALPN by participating in the responsibilities and decision-making of the Council. LPN Council members draw upon their professional experiences, and public appointees draw upon their experiences as members of the public.

Council Members are expected to make the following commitments:

  • Attend a minimum of 4 Council meetings per year, either online or in person. Most meetings are held on weekdays during the day. Some are held in the evening.
  • Attend the AGM
  • Review and respond to emails regularly and promptly.
  • Prepare for meetings by reviewing materials in advance. This can take 2 – 8 hours.
  • Participate in committee work and administrative processes of the Council
  • Participate in educational opportunities provided to the Council 

Expectations of Council Members:

  • Make decisions in the best interests of the public
  • Contribute to effective governance
  • Support the decisions of the Council

To learn more about a Council Member’s role, please review the Council Member Terms of Reference.

View the Council Members Terms of Reference Here

March 15 & 16, 2022 

April 5, 2022 

April 26, 2022 

May 11 & 12, 2022 

October 17 & 18, 2022

December 19 & 20, 2022

April 18 & 19, 2023

May 10, 2023 – AGM 


2208 E Victoria Ave
Regina, Saskatchewan
Canada S4N 7B9

Phone: 306-525-1436
Toll Free: 888-257-2576
Fax: 306-347-7784

hours of operation

Monday - Thursday
9:00AM - 12:00PM and 1:00PM - 4:00PM
The office is closed on Fridays.

Closed All Statutory Holidays


Practice & Standards Inquiries:
Other Inquiries:


SALPN acknowledges the organization resides on traditional land, referred to as Treaty 4 Territory, the original lands of the Cree, Ojibwe, Salteaux, Dakota, Nakota, Lakota and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. We honour and respect the treaties that were made on all territories and are committed to our partnership with Indigenous Nations in the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration. 

Copyright SALPN. All Rights Reserved.   |   Site by AdSpark Communications